African American Films
Anatomy and Physiology
Architectural History
Art Education
Art History
Asian Art
Assemblage Art, Collages, Steampunk Art
Biology and Ecology
Book Arts
Ceramics
Citation & Copyright
Comics Studies
Fluid Dynamics
General Reference, E-Books, and Open Access Journals
Illustration
Image Resources
Impressionism and Post-Impressionism
Interior Design
Material Culture
Museums and Galleries
Music Appreciation
Online Art News, Journals, and Magazines
Painting
Poetry
Printmaking
Photography
Professional Resources for Visual Artists
Psychology
Renaissance and Baroque Art
Sculpture
Shakespeare
Studio Safety
African American Films
NPR Finding African Americans in film.
Museum of African American Cinema
The Belknap Collection of Performing Arts.
African American Film Directors-James Madison University Libraries.
African American Filmmakers, African American Films: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
Anatomy and Physiology
American Association of Anatomists
American Medial Association. Atlas of the Body
American Physiological Society
Anatomy Atlases
BBC: Interactive Body
Bodies: The Exhibition
The E-Skeletons Project
Gray’s Anatomy
Historical Anatomies on the Web (National Library of Medicine)
Human Anatomy Online
Medical Animation Library
Science.gov
Visible Human Project
Back to the top
Architectural History
19th & 20th Century Architecture & Design
About Planning
American Institute of Architects
archINFORM: International Architecture Database
Architecture and Building (Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture)
Architecture and Landscape (Library of Congress)
Architecture and Urbanism of the Southwest
The Architecture of Thomas Jefferson (Bluffton University)
The Architecture of Thomas Jefferson (University of Virginia, The Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities)
Archnet
Art Source: Architecture Resources
Bauhaus Archiv / Museum of Design
Built in America (Library of Congress)
Center for Palladian Studies in America
Center for the Study of Architecture
Chartres Cathedral (University of Pittsburgh)
Cities and Buildings Database
“Classic 6:” New York City Apartment Building Living, 1880s-1910s (New York Public Library Digital Gallery)
Currier.org – Zimmerman House
Digital Archive of American Architecture (Boston College)
Digital Imaging Project (Bluffton University)
Digital Karnak
Directory of Open Access Journals (Architecture)
Falling Water (Western Pennsylvania Conservancy)
Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation
The Great Buildings Collections
Historic American Buildings Survey (Library of Congress)
Historic Homes (Historic New England)
Historic House Architecture
Images of Medieval Art and Architecture in England and France
Imago Urbis: Guiseppe Vasi’s Grand Tour of Rome
The International Archive of Women in Architecture
Intute: Architecture and planning
Manchester Historic Association
National Building Museum
National Register of Historic Places
Royal Institute of British Architects
Society of Architectural Historians Resources
Spiro Kostof Lectures
World Heritage List (UNESCO)
Art Education
Professional Organizations
Council for Art Education
National Art Education Association (NAEA)
National Education Association
National Guild for Community Arts Education
New Hampshire Art Education Association
New Hampshire Department of Education, Arts Education
Asian Art
Chinese Art
Japanese Art
Art in India
Art in Southeast Asia
Buddhism and Art (Minneapolis Institute of Art)
Asian Art Museum of Tokyo
Art of the Edo Period 1615-1868 (Heillbrunn Timeline of Art History)
Back to the top
Assemblage Art, Collage, Steampunk Art
Collageart.org
Collageart.org (Assemblage artists on the Internet)
Collage Descriptions – DePaul University
The Getty (Man Ray Assemblage)
Smithsonian American Art Museum (Assemblage with Found Objects-Simon Sparrow)
International Society of Assemblage and Collage Artists
International Society of Assemblage and Collage Artists (Slideshow of Artists)
International Museum of Collage, Assemblage and Construction
DMOZ – Open Directory Project (Collage)
Steampunk Art and Design Museum of the History of Science, The University of Oxford, UK.
Steampunk Magazine
Assemblage Artists (Assemblage Artists blog)
Joseph Cornell Papers, Archives of American Art
Jeff VanderMeer (Steampunk Artist and Author, Jeff VanderMeer)
Education Resources
Arts Education State Policy: New Hampshire
Designing the Arts Learning Community
Discovery Education Classroom Resources
EdSITEment (National endowment for the Humanities)
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
Gateway to Educational Materials
Guide to Building Visual Arts Lessons (The Getty)
Illinois State University Milner Library’s International Collection of Child Art Digital Collection
Kathy Schrock’s Guide for Educators
MoMA/Grove Art Learning Resources
National Gallery of Art – Education
The New York Times Learning Network
NGA Classroom (National Gallery of Art)
Open Studio: A Collection of Art-Making Ideas by Artists
The Praxis Series: Teacher Licensure and Certification
Professional Standards for Visual Arts Educators (NAEA)
Snag Films (watch free documentaries)
Standards for Art Teacher Preparation (NAEA)
Online Journals and News
Education Review: a Journal of Book Reviews
International Journal of Education and the Arts
Education Listservs
ARTnet Listserv (Respond with NO subject line, and message that contains the line: subscribe artnet ‘Your Name’)
ARTEACHER write in the body of the message: SUBSCRIBE ARTEACHER
TeacherArtExchange listserv (at The Getty)
Funding Sources for Educators
New Hampshire State Council on the Arts: Grants
Art History
American Society of Aesthetics
Art History Resources on the Web
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Christian Iconography (Augusta State University)
Dartmouth Writing Program: Writing the Art History paper
Directory of Open Access Journals: Arts and Architecture
Georgia O’Keefe Museum Collections Online
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Intute: Arts and Humanities (Creative and Performing Arts)
The Journal of Art Historiography (University of Glasgow)
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston: Interactive Tours
Smithsonian Institution: Research Information System (SIRIS)
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill guide to writing art history papers
Voice of the Shuttle: Art (Modern and Contemporary)
Biology and Ecology
Animal diversity Web (University of Michigan Museum of Zoology)
Bailey’s Eco-Regions of the United States
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Infomine – Biological, Agricultural, and Medical Sciences
NatureServe Explorer: an Online Encyclopedia of Life
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Conservation Library
Book Arts
Book Arts Journals and News
JAB: Journal of Artist’s Books (University of Chicago)
General Book Arts Information
Artists’ Books and Book Arts: A Web Guide
Bookbinding Model Collection (University of Iowa Libraries)
Graeme Dawes Japanese Bookbinding
Helpful Books About Binding, Books, and Printing (College Book Art Association)
Historical List of Prominent Books and Artist’s Books (College Book Art Association)
THE ILLUSTRATED BOOK: A SURVEY OF GENRES by Richard Minsky (Colophon Page)
Modern Structures (Bexx Caswell)
My Handbound Books – Bookbinding Blog
Paper Glossary, Glossary of Handmade Paper, Glossary of Paper Terms
State Library of Queensland, Artists’ Books
Women’s Studio Workshop: Artists’ Book Archive, Structure Glossary
Book Arts Exhibitions, Collections and Vendors
Artists’ Books (Reed College Digital Collections)
Artists’ Books Collection (Otis College of Art and Design)
Guild of Book Workers: Marking Time
Jaffe Center for Book Arts at Florida Atlantic University
Unseen Hands: Women Printers, Binders & Book Designers
VADS Netherlands Decorate Book Collection
Women’s Studio Workshop Artists’ Books Archive
Book Arts Organizations and Schools
Canadian Bookbinders and Book Artists Guild
Columbia College of Chicago Center for Book and Paper Arts
Minnesota Center for Book Arts
The New England Chapter of The Guild of Book Workers
Rare Book School, University of Virginia
The School for Formal Bookbinding
University of Alabama Book Arts program
University of the Arts Book Arts/Printmaking program
Women’s Studio Workshop, Artist’s Books
Book Artists and Studios
Brian Dettmer ( Book Sculptures on BoingBoing)
The Book Art of Richard Minsky
Interview with Richard Minsky – Book Artist
Selkie Bindery, Johanna Finnegan-Topitzer
Keith Smith (Brooklyn Artists Alliance)
Book Arts Technical Information
Book Arts Web: Tutorials & Reference
Clamshell Box Tutorial (Indiana University Libraries)
Inward Bound: Making a Case-Bound Book
A Simple Book Repair Manual (Preservation Services, Dartmouth College Library)
Stitches and Sewing for Bookbinding Structures (GBW/CBBAG)
Book Arts Multimedia
Book Artists and Poets (University of Alabama)
Book Arts Groups and Listservs
College Book Art Association listserv
Letterpress and the History of Printing
Briar Press (letterpress information and classifieds)
Introduction to Letterpress Printing (Five Roses Press)
Letterpress FAQ (Green Dolphin Press)
Museum of Printing (North Andover, MA)
Ceramics
American Museum of Ceramic Art
Ceramics in America (2001 – 2010)
Minneapolis Institute of Art, Asian Art Collection
National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts
Citation & Copyright
American Library Association: Copyright and Fair Use
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Columbia University Libraries/Information Services Copyright Advisory Office Fair Use Checklist
Image Caption Style (Washington University Libraries)
MLA Documentation (The Writing Center University of Wisconsin, Madison)
MLA Style Aid (Western Oregon University)
UCLA: Bruin Success with Less Stress
United States Copyright Office
The Writing Center at University of Wisconsin – Madison
Visual Resources Association: Copyright, Intellectual Property Rights, Fair Use
Comics Studies
Alec Longstreth: Blog, Comics, Illustration
Art & Story (podcasts available through iTunes)
The Center for Cartoon Studies
Comix-Scholars Listserv (UF Comics Studies, Department of English)
Drawn! Illustration and Cartoon Art
ImageTexT: Interdisciplinary Comic Studies
Inkstuds (the radio show about comic books)
International Journal of Comic Art (IJOCA)
Journalista: the Comics Journal Weblog
Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art
The National Association of Comic Arts Educators
New and Improved Comic Book Blog Updates
Fluid Dynamics
General Reference, E-Books, and Open Access Journals
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Crafts Council Research and Information
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Houghton Library Exhibition ‘Books in Books’
New Hampshire Historical Society Library
Online Books Page (University of Pennsylvania)
Parker on the Web (online manuscript collection)
Snag Films (watch free documentaries)
Social Science Research Network
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
UC Irvine Libraries’ Begin Your Research online workshop
Visuwords: Online Graphical Dictionary
Illustration
Caldecott Medal (children’s book illustration)
Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators
VADS: The Online Resource for Visual Artists
Image Resources
American Museum of Photography
Art Access (Art Institute of Chicago)
Claremont Colleges Digital Library, Fine Arts
Collections Searching Center, Smithsonian Institute
Freer and Sackler Galleries at the Smithsonian
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Historical Anatomies on the Web (National Library of Medicine)
International Center of Photography
Jacques-Edouard Berger Foundation: World Art Treasures
Louvre Atlas database of exhibits
Museum of Modern Art: The Collection
National Archives and Records Administration: Online Exhibits
New York Public Library: Picture Collection Online
Smithsonian Institution: Research Information System (SIRIS)
Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
VADS: The Online Resource for Visual Artists
Impressionism and Post-Impressionism
Art Images for College Teaching: Impressionism
The Art Institute of Chicago: Impressionism and Post-Impressionism
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History: Impressionism: Art and Modernity
Impressionist and Post-Impressionist Art (The Clark Museum)
National Gallery of Art: Impressionism
National Gallery of Art: Post-Impressionism
Painting, Post-Impressionism (University of Texas)
Interior Design
American Furniture 1993 – 2008
American Society of Interior Designers
Digital Library for Decorative Art and Material Culture
International Interior Design Association
National Council for Interior Design Qualification
Material Culture
Anthropology Journals (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Archaeology and Material Culture Links (Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis)
Archaeology Journals (Directory of Open Access Journals)
BBC’s History of the World in 100 Objects (podcasts also available on iTunes)
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture, Architecture and Building
Internet Resources for Material Culture (University of Delaware Library)
Manchester Historic Association
Marcel Duchamp “Boite en Valise” (National gallery of Australia)
Material Culture/Images (Irene Bierman, University of California – Los Angeles)
Material Culture/Objects (Daniel Waugh, University of Washington)
The Pitts Rivers Museum, Oxford, UK
Music Appreciation
American Memory: Performing Arts, Music (Library of Congress)
American Musicological Society (AMS)
Archival Sound Recordings (British Library)
Community Audio (formerly known as Open Source Audio)
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), Music Journals Online
Folkways, Native American Music – Smithsonian Folkways
Internet Public Library: Music History
Jazz and American Popular Music at Home and Abroad
Musopen (online music library of public domain music)
National, International, and World Music (Indiana University School of Music)
Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard College Library)
Sacred Harp & Shape-Note Music Resources (Steven L. Sabol, Washington, D.C. Sacred Harp Singers)
Sheet Music Collections (Duke University Library)
The Society for Ethnomusicology
Worldwide Internet Music Resources (Indiana University School of Music)
Online Art News, Journals, and Magazines
Art Beast: the Best of Art, Photography, and Design
Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide
Painting
Claude Monet: The Complete Works
James McNeill Whistler (Freer + Sackler Galleries)
The Joesf & Annie Albers Foundation
MoMA’s Online Painting Collection
Painting: Art Studio Chalkboard
Pigments Through the Ages (Citing Pigments Through the Ages)
Photography
British Journals of Photography
American Society of Media Photographers
George Eastman House – Notes on Photographs
International Center of Photography
An International Tour of Working Bromoilists
Lost & Found: History of Early Photography (Resources Guides–University of South Carolina)
National Press Photographers Association
Timeline of Color Photography (Photographic Resource Center at Boston University)
Poetry
http://www.poets.org/state.php/varState/NH Poets.Org. Poet Laureate
http://www.poetrysocietyofnewhampshire.org/ Poetry Society of New Hampshire
http://www.poetryfoundation.org/ Poetry Foundation
http://www.pw.org/ Poets & Writers
http://www.pw.org/toolsforwriters-Tools for Writers.
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/615/01/ Purdue Owl-Writing about Poetry.
http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/ReadingPoetry.html The Writing Center-University of Wisconsin-Madison.
http://www.folkways.si.edu/explore_folkways/poetry.aspx Music in Poetry-Smithsonian Folkways.
Psychology
American Psychological Association Homepage
Provides links for professionals and students interested in the field of psychology
National Institute of Mental Health
Provides a great deal of information on NIMH and mental health research in general
National Mental Health Association (NMHA)
Country’s oldest and largest nonprofit organization addressing all aspects of mental health and mental illness
Association for Psychological Science
Describes this organization’s services and publications and lists events and connects to a large collection of related links
National Alliance on Mental Illness
NAMI is a nonprofit, grassroots, self-help, support and advocacy organization of consumers, families, and friends of people with severe mental illnesses
Behavioral Psychology
Behavior Online
Online Journal and discussion groups on many psychology theories
Encyclopedia of Psychology — Environment Behavior Relationships
Online encyclopedia
Biological Psychology
Educational Psychology
CRESST
National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards and Student Testing
History of Psychology
Classics in the History of Psychology
Full text versions of historically significant public domain documents in the area of psychology
History of Psychology Web Site
History and the philosophy of psychology
Perception
Sensation and Perception
From Hanover College (Indiana) and maintained by John H. Krantz, Ph.D.
Personality
Great Ideas in Personality
This site covers explanations and theories, including attachment theory, interpersonal theory, intelligence, cognitive social theories, behavior genetics and more. Basic information web links and bibliography.
The Personality Project
These pages are meant to guide those interested in personality theory and research to the current personality research literature. Some of the readings are full-text online.
Research/Statistics
Vassar Stats
Web Site for Statistical Computation
Social Psychology
Social Psychology Network
Large social psychology database supported by the Science Foundation
Printmaking
The American Color Print Society
Color Printing in the Nineteenth Century (University of Delaware)
The Floating World of Ukiyo-E (Library of Congress Exhibit)
International Fine Print Dealers Association Glossary of Print Terms
International Print Center New York
Kenneth Tyler Printmaking Collection Online (The National Gallery of Australia)
Kentler International Drawing Space
Society of American Graphic Artists
Professional Resources for Visual Artists
General Professional Resources
Articles for Artists: Resources to Present, Promote, Market Your Art A collection of helpful links for professional artists
Artists at Work a professional best practices blog
Artists Help Network A general resource based on the Appendix of Resources of Caroll Michels’ book How to Survive and Prosper as an Artist: Selling Yourself without Selling Your Soul
ArtSource (School of the Museum of Fine Arts) information and opportunities for artists
Art-Support a general art business reference, including legal forms
Art UW (University of Washington general information from getting into graduate school to approaching a gallery
Creative Eye cooperative of independent photographers and illustrators
Freelancers Union access to health insurance, information on advocacy and employment opportunities, and online networking and self-promotion for freelance artists
New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) Source NYFA’s “Business of Art” articles cover a wide variety of career information. Requires free registration
Springboard for the Arts connects artists with the skills, contacts, information and services they need to make a living and life
Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts a provider of legal services to artists
Employment, Exhibition and Residency Opportunities
AdAge Employment opportunities and advice for artists entering the advertising industry
Alliance of Artists Communities information on job and residency opportunities
Americans for the Arts Job Bank online recruitment resource for the arts
Art & Design: Career and employment Sponsored by the Department of Art & Design, Northern Michigan University. Includes large contact lists
Art Deadlines List exhibition, residency and employment information
New England Foundation for the Arts Supporters of the Arts in the New England Region – grants, services, projects for artists
ARTINFO a listing of jobs in the arts
ArtsOpportunities free online classifieds for jobs, internships and artist opportunities
Art Times Opportunities a listing of call for entries
CaFE online system that provides open call information on public art commissions, exhibitions, grants, and awards
Chronicle Careers art jobs in higher education
College Art Association exhibition and job opportunities
Communication Art’s Job List database of jobs in the arts (mainly graphic design, illustration and photography)
Coroflot Job Board jobs in the design field
CUE Art Foundation Helps under-recognized artists throughout the United States with career development through exhibitions, residencies, and other programs
Hire Culture listing of opportunities provided by the Massachusetts Cultural Council
How Magazine/Career job listings and general employment information
International Federation of Arts Councils and Culture Agencies international job opportunities in the arts
ISCP career development opportunities for a select community of international artists. Participating artists are sponsored for periods from two months to two years by governments, corporations, foundations, galleries and individuals
New Hampshire State Council on the Arts calls for entries
New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) employment opportunities for artists (found in the “classifieds” link)
ResArtis worldwide network of artists residencies
Trans Artists directory of international artist-in-residence programs and call for artists
Finance and Funding for the Arts
Art Deadlines List a listing of grants and other opportunities
Art Home ArtHome’s mission is to help artists build assets and equity through financial literacy, homeownership, self-sufficiency and the responsible use of credit.
Creative Capital funding partner for artists
The Foundation Center source of information on grants
National Endowment for the Arts public agency dedicated to supporting the arts
New Hampshire State Council on the Arts Grant Information a listing of grant opportunities and basic grant information
New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) NYFA’s Fiscal Sponsorship Program provides advice, assistance and tools to visual artists seeking funding. NYFA Source is a database of funding opportunities (requires free registration).
Legal Information for Artists
Art UW (University of Washington basic legal information from tax law to copyright
Starving Artists Law launch pad for artists and writers looking for self help legal information
Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts VLA delivers legal services and information to over 10,000 members of the arts community each year
Professional Artist Associations
Advertising Photographers of America
American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA)
American Society of Media Photographers
International Interior Design Association
League of New Hampshire Craftsmen
Manchester Artists Association
National Council for Interior Design Qualification
National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts (NCECA)
National Press Photographers Association
New England Sculptors Association
Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators
Museums and Galleries
Art Museums in the United States (Artcyclopedia)
Art Museums Worldwide (Artcyclopedia)
CultureCount: New England’s Cultural Database (New England Foundation for the Arts)
Museums and Galleries in Manchester
Manchester Artists Association Art Gallery
St. Anselm College Chapel Art Center
Other Museums and Galleries in New Hampshire
Alliance for Visual Arts Gallery, Lebanon
Augustus St. Gaudens National Historic Site, Cornish
Hood Museum of Art (Dartmouth College)
McIninch Art Gallery (Southern New Hampshire University)
Museum of Art (University of New Hampshire)
New Hampshire Historical Society Museum, Concord
Thorne-Sagendorph Art Gallery (Keene State College)
Museums and Galleries in Massachusetts
Addison Gallery, Phillips Academy, Andover [Closed until 2010]
Clark Art Institute, Williamstown
DeCordova Museum and Sculpture Park, Lincoln
Griffin Museum of Photography, Winchester
Harvard University Art Museum, Cambridge
The Institute of Contemporary Art/Boston
Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, Boston
List Art Center, MIT, Cambridge
Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art (MASS MoCa), North Adams
National Center of Afro-American Artists, Boston
Smith College Museum of Art, North Hampton
Tufts University Art Gallery, Medford
Williams College of Art, Williamstown
Museums and Galleries in Maine
Bowdoin College Museum of Art, Brunswick
Colby Museum of Art, Waterville
Farnsworth Art Museum, Rockland
Portland Museum of Art, Portland
University of Maine Museum of Art, Bangor
Museums and Galleries in Vermont
Fleming Museum, University of Vermont, Burlington
Middlebury College Museum of Art, Middlebury
Museums and Galleries in Rhode Island
Renaissance and Baroque Art
Art History resources on the Web: Baroque Art
Art History resources on the Web: Renaissance Art in Italy
Art on the Web: Renaissance Art Links
Worldwide Art Resources Art History: Baroque: (1600 – 1750)
Sculpture
International Sculpture Center
New England Sculptors Association
Shakespeare
The Cleveland Press Shakespeare Photographs 1870 – 1982
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
In Search of Shakespeare (PBS)
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
The Plays of William Shakespeare (Electronic Literature Foundation/ELF)
Shakespeare Illustrated (Emory University)
The Shakespeare Resource Center
Sh:in:E – Shakespeare in Europe
Tools for studying Shakespeare and Contemporaries
Virtual Tour of the Globe Theatre
William Shakespeare Filmography (IMDb)
William Shakespeare (Voice of the Shuttle)
Studio Safety
Art and Creative Materials Institute – Safety Art Hazards
Art Materials Information and Education Network (AMIEN)
Art Safety Training Guide (Princeton University)
CAMEO Conservation & Art Material Encyclopedia Online
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) Online
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
TOXNET (united States National Library of Medicine)
United States Department of Labor: Occupation Safety and Health Administration
[...] Resources on the Web by Subject [...]
Thanks for great tools! I’ll try to use them.
By the way, as for languages, I prefer online tools, such as thesaurus dictionary.